Howard Hanna Professionals
Clymer, Singer named Athletes of the Year

Clymer, Singer named Athletes of the Year

By: Ed Weaver  /  June 8, 2021  /  Photo: Ed Weaver

Seniors Zach Singer and Kerrah Clymer were named Male and Female Athletes of the Year at the Wellsboro Athletic Department and the Wellsboro Hornets Sports Booster Club's annual athletic awards presentation on Monday, June 7.

Wellsboro Athletic Director Matt Rendos, Principal Jeremy Byrd and Head of Athletics Todd Outman recognized all Wellsboro athletic teams for their accomplishments throughout the 2020-21 season and team MVP's and coaches awards were presented. Following the team introductions and awards, the annual Special Awards and Memorial Awards were presented.

Singer also received a $500 scholarship from the Wellsboro Gridders Club and seniors Aislinn Hoose, Kiyah Boyce, and Singer each received $500 scholarships from the Booster Club.

Coaches Awards

Basketball Cheerleading: Lynsey Hastings

Football Cheerleading: Lynsey Hastings

Wrestling: Landon Goetsch

Girls Cross Country: Maddy Callahan

Boys Cross County: Gabe Guignard

Softball: Chelsie English

Boys Track: Anthony Dunkel

Boys Soccer: Brody Morral

Girls Soccer: Jena Boyce, Cara Tennis

Baseball: Kaeden Mann

Boys Basketball: Darryn Callahan

Girls Basketball: Sarah Mosher

Girls Tennis: Alexis Banik

Girls Track: Madison Robbins

Volleyball: Shiloh Duff

Football: Zach Singer

Golf: Andrew Merriman

Girls Swimming: Caralyn Warner

Boys Swimming: Hayne Webster

Boys Tennis: Zach Singer

Team MVPs

Basketball Cheerleading: Sarah Foreman

Football Cheerleading: Sarah Foreman

Wrestling: Wyatt Gastrock

Girls Cross Country: Havah Simcox

Boys Cross County: Aidan Fletcher

Softball: Jena Boyce

Boys Track: Jack Poirier

Girls Soccer: Kerrah Clymer

Baseball: Brock Hamblin, Zach Rowland

Boys Basketball: Liam Manning

Girls Basketball: Emma Coolidge

Girls Tennis: Ana Perry

Girls Track: Kiyah Boyce

Volleybal: Breighanna Kemp

Football: Darryn Callahan (offensive), Ryan Sweet (defensive)

Golf: Brock Hamblin

Boys Tennis: Will Poirier

Special Awards

The U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete awards were presented to seniors Jena Boyce and Will Poirier.

The Babe Ruth Good Sportsmanship awards were presented to seniors Alexis Banik and Daniel Swanson.

The School Spirit awards were presented to seniors Bianca Lorje and Aidan Fletcher.

The District IV PIAA Sportsmanship awards were presented to seniors Sarah Mosher and Landon Goetsch.

The PIAA District IV awards were presented to seniors Kathryn Burnett and Joseph Grab.

The Williamsport Sun-Gazette Senior Sports award is presented to seniors Kerrah Clymer and Zach Singer.

Memorial Awards

The Samuel F. McInroy Award is given to a member of the graduating class of Wellsboro Area High School who is of good moral character, is a cooperative team player, exhibits tenacity in the field of sports. The 2020-21 recipient is Will Poirier.

The Ray Strykowski Memorial Award is presented to a female basketball player in memory of Coach Strykowski who coached the Wellsboro Lady Hornets. The 2020-21 recipient is Sarah Mosher.

The Larue Wilson Memorial Award is presented to a male basketball player in memory of Mr. Wilson who passed away in September 1973. The 2020-21 recipient is sophomore Conner Adams.

The Wellsboro High School Softball Excellence Award is given... The 2020-21 recipient is Kerrah Clymer.

The John Wilcox Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team who has exhibited the desire and the drive to develop fully his playing potential and sportsmanship, and has demonstrated the sincerity and the devotion which truely characterized John's approach to this goal. The 2018-19 recipient is senior Zach Singer.

The Rev. Wade Stewart Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team in memory of Samuel Wade Stewart who served the people of Wellsboro until his passing in 1988. The 2020-21 recipient is senior Danny Timmons.

The Laura Grove Patterson Memorial Award is given to the top player of the girls' tennis team in memory of Ms. Patterson who served on the faculty at Wellsboro High School. The 2020-21 recipient is Alexis Banik.

The Shelly Taynton Memorial Award is given to a lady who is the member of the senior class. The 2020-21 recipient is senior Bailey Monks.

The Male Athlete of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year awards are given in memory of John Antoine Prevost who was born on May 9, 1935. He lived most of his life in Wellsboro where he is remembered as an outstanding student leader, athlete, and positive example to his school and community. The 2020-21 recipients are Zach Singer and Kerrah Clymer. would like to congratulate all award winners, athletes, coaches, and teams on a successful 2020-21 sports season.


About the Author

Ed Weaver Author Bio

Ed Weaver

Ed Weaver is the owner of Circle W Sports in Wellsboro, PA, is the Sports Director for The Home Page Network and the creator of and You can follow him on Twitter or friend him on Facebook.

Howard Hanna Professionals
Shop Wellsboro Hornet Gear on our BSN Sports Team Store